Saturday, October 9, 2010

Tuberville and Tech as of October 2010

As I sit here, basking in the glow of a win by my Red Raiders over the Baylor Bears this Saturday afternoon, I feel the need to opine.  My view on Mike Leach's firing is well known....both sides messed that whole thing up, and I'm tired of dwelling on it.  So, onward.  So far, this season has been a test for Tubs and crew....and for the Red Raider Nation.  For those who care to read it, here are my thoughts up to this point.

Mike Leach was wrong when he called this potentially his most talented team to date.  Bluntly, they are not...they are talented, but not nearly as much as 2008.  I partially blame Leach for lackadaisical recruiting while he shopped himself around.  We have no depth on offensive line and it shows.  We have no speed in the defense, and it REALLY shows.  We are getting a half-hearted effort by most of the wideouts, and it shows.  If Leach had put nearly as much effort into recruiting, especially on D and special teams, as he did job-hunting, we'd be much better off talent-wise.  This team stacks up more like 2002 and 2003 than 2008.

Now don't get me wrong.  It is Tubs' job to fix all of this, and he is not blameless as the team has yet to find it's identity.  And I am NOT bagging on the talent we do have, they are good kids and are learning to represent our alma mater well.  Just noting we should be better than we are.

I credit Leach for getting  us as far as he could with some national recognition, improved O, and some improvement in talent.  Now, Red Raider Nation is ready to take the famed Next Step, and history tells us, to do so takes someone willing and able to help teach the kids TO take the Next Step, to focus on ALL sides of the ball.  And in that sense, Tubs has the history of doing just that.

So how do we get there?  Red Raider Nation, we have to show some patience and let the coaches coach.  I don't care what has been said about the offense won't change, it has.  It takes some time for the offense to gel and begin to click.  After today's win, clearly they are getting there.  Tubs' job really consists of letting the offense continue to grow and improve, while he focuses on getting the horses in here to vastly improve team speed on defense and special teams.  We just have to give him time to do so!

There's nothing wrong with some venting.  After all, we finally got a taste of some, SOME, success in 2008.  The brass ring seemed within real reach.  It is good that we now expect success!!  So, I'm good with venting, it shows we care about our team, our guys, our program. I'm not good with emotional decision-making, those calling for Tubs' ouster after only 4 games is a good example, when we are clearly rebuilding. Snap judgments won't fix this, rational minds and honest-to-goodness recruiting and coaching will, and it will take more than this year. We have got to give Tubs and crew time to put their system and players in place, and support them while they do it. We need the horses on D, on O-line, and on special teams...the areas Leach largely ignored...to take the famed Next Step we all are awaiting. Let's see if they can do it...and the 20th best recruiting class is a step in that direction! I hate losing too, not trying to rose-colored-glasses them....and winning should not require nail-biting after we give up 38 sloppy points....but while we rebuild, find our new team identity, and get the horses in here, I'll support Tubs and crew 150%.  I hope my fellow Red Raiders will to.

This year looks like it will wind up with some wins, some losses, and a lower-tier bowl game.....hhmmm, much like the Leach era started.  I look forward to vast improvements in the years to come, to actually taking that Next Step, and will hope I'm proven right in this:  Tubs can do it....let's give him the chance!!

No comments:

Post a Comment