Tuesday, October 26, 2010

Nolan Ryan, Thank You

July 20, 1990.  On that date, my dad took me to the old ballpark in Arlington for a Texas Rangers game versus the Detroit Tigers.  It was not the fact that Texas won 5-3 that made it so memorable, as I had been to plenty of games before and have been to many since...it was the fact that it was Nolan Ryan's 299th win.

I remember it very well.  The plans were made last-minute...somehow dad had gotten ahold of some tickets, and we were to make the drive from Abilene to Arlington on short notice.  We sat in the cheap seats, left field lower deck just inside the foul pole by about 5 seats and about 10 rows up.  Of course, the quality of seats did not matter...it was still a great view, we were present and accounted for, we did not sit for a second, and we saw every pitch.  The smells of the Ballpark were dynamic...the hot dogs, the popcorn, and of course the smell of a fermented beverage that I could not yet recognize (hey, I was only 17).  The air and atmosphere was alive, and Texas took a fast and early 5-0 lead while Nolan pitched absolute BB's out there.  Texas held on late as the bullpen saved the win for Nolan.  The crowd was electric, cheering every pitch, every swing of the bat.  There was not an empty seat in the stadium, and we all witnessed history.  It was one of the most memorable moments I have had with my dad.



Lots of things have changed since then.  Via TV, I witnessed many more memorable histrionics by Nolan Ryan....win #300, no-hitters 6 and 7, whipping Robin Ventura's butt when he charged the mound. 



The old ballpark is gone now, replaced by the much-improved Ballpark in Arlington.  Changes have also come in the forms of team logo and personnel.  Nolan Ryan is now the team president and part-owner.  But one thing did not change....no American League pennants and World Series appearances.  Sure, they won 3 division crowns, but nothing more, getting drummed out of the first round each time.

No championships....until October 22, 2010.

That day, while not fortunate enough to be there in person, I shared a Texas Rangers game with my sons via TV.  I sat and paced and sat and paced, explaining every nuance of the budding game to them, cheering every play in our favor, going wild when Vlad and Nellie connected in the 5th inning, and we watched our Texas Rangers defeat the defending champ and hated New York Yankees 6-1.  Texas had won its first American League pennant and thus their first trip to the World Series, the game ending when Neftali Feliz struck out Alex Rodriguez looking (talk about karma)....and we jumped to our feet, shouting and yelling in celebration, vaulting ourselves around the living room in glee at the historic accomplishment.

We watched the fireworks, the mob on the mound, the Yankees slunking away dejected into their locker room with questions abounding, the champagne and beer being chilled in the home locker room all draped with plastic, the team doing a victory lap thanking the fans, and drenching themselves with their pre-alcohol selection of ginger ale.  Then, during the post game ceremony, we saw Nolan Ryan make history again, as he held up the American League Championship trophy for all to see.



I flashed back to win #299.  I realized I too had just shared a Nolan Ryan history-making moment with my sons.  And it meant something...to share it with my boys....to realize what it meant to a baseball franchise that I had followed and cheered on for so long.

They finally won it.  The team with stars the likes of Josh Hamilton, Nelson Cruz, Vladimir Guerrero, Elvis Andrus, Cliff Lee, C.J. Wilson, Ian Kinsler.....and most notably the long-time team anchor and captain Michael Young, who stuck with this team over the years, and manager Ron Washington....had finally done it.  They did it for themselves, for the fans, for notable Rangers past.  The early Rangers that never experienced this in a Ranger uniform, like Mike Hargrove, Jim Sundberg, Jeff Burroughs, Charlie Hough, Ferguson Jenkins, Toby Harrah, and forever-Ranger Buddy Bell.  The more recent Rangers like Juan Gonzalez, Pete Incaviglia, Pudge, Kenny Rogers, Julio Franco, Will Clark, Mark McLemore, Hammerin' Hank Blalock, gutsy Rusty Greer, John Wetteland, and Ruben Sierra.

But most memorably, for Johnny Oates, who was smiling and watching from his heavenly home....who too was present and accounted for in love and in spirit.



No matter what happens in the World Series, the Texas Rangers are "tortured" no more.  Texas Rangers fans are long-suffering no more.  Nolan Ryan, in ownership and leadership, made history again.



So, Nolan Ryan, thank you.  Thank you for your leadership, your change in clubhouse mentality, your willingness to step up and teach these guys to win.

The Texas Rangers are American League Champions.

And I shared it with my sons on October 22, 2010.

 

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

38 Years

Of course, the obvious addition to my blog this week is me turning 38.  And I am proud of the fact that I can stare at that number and NOT freak out!  But truth be told, there is no demonstrative reason for me TO freak out over 38.  I certainly don't feel a year older, I am lucky and blessed with good health, I have a wonderful wife and kiddos that I thorougly enjoy spending time with, I am very happy in my career and location.....nope, no freak out here.

We had a visit from my mom this weekend.  Just prior to her arrival, she asked what I wanted for my birthday...I got the distinct feeling she was looking for some sort of tangible answer.  I think I surprised her with my quick answer that all I really wanted was a date night with the wife, just watch the kiddos for an evening.  We don't have enough of them, but when we get the time, I still love date nights.  We had a great date.  I discovered a great new-ish restaurant in town, Hayashi, with incredibly good sushi (correction, nigiri...thanks to brother Bingo for the verbage correction), and great hibachi.  We also got to see "Life As We Know It" (better than I thought it would be, the poo poo on the face scene was a riot) while overdoing it on buttered movie theater popcorn.  A great birthday date, thank you honey!!

I guess my choice in birthday present from mom just about sums up where I am these days.  The tangible is OK, the occasional play-thing is nice and neat...but in all honesty, I'd rather just have time with my family.  I don't feel like I have enough time with them, you know the whole having to provide for them and all.  But I certainly take what I can get!  Few things make me smile like Taylor doing his best to explain to me what his Pokemon characters are and what they do, Cameron sitting and watching football with me asking every question you can imagine about the game (that's my boy!!), and Lauren sitting in my lap wanting to read book after book after book.  Few things are as good for my soul as these three wonderful kids, and I thank God every day for them....and just continue to hope I am doing right by them.  I'm trying, anyway.  Add to that my wife, Denise, who has blessed me with 10 wonderful years of love and family, and I am truly very lucky.

So no, no freak out here.  My first 38 years have been very good to me, and I will spend the next 38+ trying my best to be as good to my family as God and life have been to me.

And lastly, thank you everyone for the kind birthday wishes.  As blessed as I am in family is as blessed as I am in friendships, and I cherish every one of my friends.

So, onward.  We will see what year 38 has in store for us, and the march towards mid-life continues....we will see if the freak out happens then!

Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Clutziness

I am a clutz...a grade-A, classic clutz.  Just ask my wife.  If I was standing in the middle of a vast grass field, and there was one small patch that covered a hole, sure enough I would be the one fool to fall in it.  I can't count how many times I've smacked my head on the door frame of our mini-van...how many times I've tripped over dang-near every piece of furniture in the bedroom...how many times I've barked my shins on anything that is hard, made of wood, and stands shin-high....how many times I've caught my foot on that blasted 2 inch concrete curb in the garage.  I have a long history of such occurrences....and the scars to prove it.  Heck, even as a child, I could not carry a glass bowl through the kitchen without ending up in the ER needing stitches!  And we won't mention slamming my finger in the back gate 2 weeks before my senior year all-region tuba competition...yep, the finger responsible for the 1st valve.  Clutz, thy name be Jon.

About a month ago, my no-longer-secret-inner clutz reared it's ugly head yet again.  I could not complete the simple task of walking through the kitchen, to the table, to help Cameron with his homework, without doing my best to put my left foot through the kitchen chair leg.  I mean, heck, I was even looking at the dang thing and still booted it!  You guessed it, I was shoeless.  Yep, stubbed the heck out of my third toe.  Of course, broke it but good.

Then, to top it off, the next night, I stepped on a yet-to-be-determined toy in Lauren's room.  Uh huh, stepped on it RIGHT on that toe, flexing it backwards, which sent me limping away even more red-faced and in pain than before.  I had felt the bones move......shudder!

It turned all kinds of interesting colors, swelling up to the point where I could not even bend it.  Then as swelling slowly subsided, and the deep purple turned into light purple then over another week or so the lovely seasonal fall colors of orange and yellow, the bruising pattern revealed what I thought.  Multiple breaks.  One across the knuckle, one laterally back towards the foot.  No wonder it hurt so bad!

I decided to try and make this a teachable moment....wait, I hate that phrase....a learning experience for the kiddos.  After all, since they are my offspring, there is a very good chance that clutziness is inherited (mom, I'm looking squarely at you....), so I wanted them to see and realize that even a broken bone is not the end of the world.  They looked at it, and gave the biggest collective "EEEEWWWWWWWWWWWW" ever uttered in the history of the world.  They asked if it hurt, and I said yes but not too bad (wink wink) and it will get better.  Taylor kinda shrugged it off and hoped I would be OK.  Cameron walked over to the offending chair and smacked it telling it not to hurt his daddy. Lauren just wanted to kiss daddy's "booken tow owie" and make it all better (aaaawwwwww). 

A month later, the fall colors have subsided and it looks mostly normal again.  Several weeks of keeping it taped up and trying not to flex it seemed to have helped.  It is not 100% yet, and I have a feeling I will be able to tell when snow is imminent for the rest of my natural life.  But it seems to be almost healed.

Looking for a moral?  Life-lesson learned?  Something profound taught to the miracles that are our children?  Nope, none here.  Just a simple truth.  If you see me stumble, don't be a hero and try to catch me....back away...I might land on you and injure you as well.  You've been warned....

Saturday, October 9, 2010

Tuberville and Tech as of October 2010

As I sit here, basking in the glow of a win by my Red Raiders over the Baylor Bears this Saturday afternoon, I feel the need to opine.  My view on Mike Leach's firing is well known....both sides messed that whole thing up, and I'm tired of dwelling on it.  So, onward.  So far, this season has been a test for Tubs and crew....and for the Red Raider Nation.  For those who care to read it, here are my thoughts up to this point.

Mike Leach was wrong when he called this potentially his most talented team to date.  Bluntly, they are not...they are talented, but not nearly as much as 2008.  I partially blame Leach for lackadaisical recruiting while he shopped himself around.  We have no depth on offensive line and it shows.  We have no speed in the defense, and it REALLY shows.  We are getting a half-hearted effort by most of the wideouts, and it shows.  If Leach had put nearly as much effort into recruiting, especially on D and special teams, as he did job-hunting, we'd be much better off talent-wise.  This team stacks up more like 2002 and 2003 than 2008.

Now don't get me wrong.  It is Tubs' job to fix all of this, and he is not blameless as the team has yet to find it's identity.  And I am NOT bagging on the talent we do have, they are good kids and are learning to represent our alma mater well.  Just noting we should be better than we are.

I credit Leach for getting  us as far as he could with some national recognition, improved O, and some improvement in talent.  Now, Red Raider Nation is ready to take the famed Next Step, and history tells us, to do so takes someone willing and able to help teach the kids TO take the Next Step, to focus on ALL sides of the ball.  And in that sense, Tubs has the history of doing just that.

So how do we get there?  Red Raider Nation, we have to show some patience and let the coaches coach.  I don't care what has been said about the offense won't change, it has.  It takes some time for the offense to gel and begin to click.  After today's win, clearly they are getting there.  Tubs' job really consists of letting the offense continue to grow and improve, while he focuses on getting the horses in here to vastly improve team speed on defense and special teams.  We just have to give him time to do so!

There's nothing wrong with some venting.  After all, we finally got a taste of some, SOME, success in 2008.  The brass ring seemed within real reach.  It is good that we now expect success!!  So, I'm good with venting, it shows we care about our team, our guys, our program. I'm not good with emotional decision-making, those calling for Tubs' ouster after only 4 games is a good example, when we are clearly rebuilding. Snap judgments won't fix this, rational minds and honest-to-goodness recruiting and coaching will, and it will take more than this year. We have got to give Tubs and crew time to put their system and players in place, and support them while they do it. We need the horses on D, on O-line, and on special teams...the areas Leach largely ignored...to take the famed Next Step we all are awaiting. Let's see if they can do it...and the 20th best recruiting class is a step in that direction! I hate losing too, not trying to rose-colored-glasses them....and winning should not require nail-biting after we give up 38 sloppy points....but while we rebuild, find our new team identity, and get the horses in here, I'll support Tubs and crew 150%.  I hope my fellow Red Raiders will to.

This year looks like it will wind up with some wins, some losses, and a lower-tier bowl game.....hhmmm, much like the Leach era started.  I look forward to vast improvements in the years to come, to actually taking that Next Step, and will hope I'm proven right in this:  Tubs can do it....let's give him the chance!!

Thursday, October 7, 2010

But It's NOT My Birthday!!

I'm flattered.  I got a personally-signed birthday card at work today from a high-ranking local government official.  The bad news, though, is that it is NOT my birthday!  My birthday is not for another 2 1/2 weeks.  Now don't get me wrong, it is a nice gesture for a government official to take the time, and I'm sure it was part of some sort of mass birthday card extravaganza for every employee with an October birthday, but he even put the wrong date on the card!

And this got me thinking about government officials in general.  For those who know me, my political leanings are no secret.  I am right-of-center like most of the country.  I have a healthy, Constitutionally-driven skepticism of government largess, especially the bigger government grows and the further away government drifts from localities.  I fully believe, in leadership in life in government, that the best decisions are the ones made at the lowest level possible.  Call it conservative, call it tea party-ish, call it whatever, it is what I believe, and I believe it has proven to be the best mode of governing more times than not.  So back to my thinking about government and my screwed-up birthday card....if they can't even get that right, what else is government doing wrong, locally or otherwise?

We are on the eve of some pretty big midterm elections here.  And I can't help but glance at the nation-wide polling from time to time.  Apparently, either LOTS of people are also getting erroneous birthday wishes from their government officials, or this country is mad as hell right now.  Looks like government across this country is doing lots of wrong in the eyes of the American people lately.  Vast majorities want Obamacare repealed and the border finally sealed.  The party in power is trailing by wide margins in generic polls.  Pundits and "experts" are already saying the House of Representatives is changing hands, and the Senate is in full play.  Liberal bastions like Connecticut, California, Wisconsin, and Washington show formerly popular senators in a heap of trouble.  NOBODY is extolling the "progress" of the past two years, it is all "he's too extreme, she's too strange, who else can I blame."  My fellow Texans are legitimally torn between an unpopular, arrogant governor and his challenger who might do a good job but probably won't get a legitimate shot because he belongs to the now-unpopular party of Nancy Pelosi and Harry Reid, not to mention our teleprompter president....and that fact alone probably means we keep Governor Good Hair for another term.  All in all, America seems to be saying, in full unison, "LISTEN TO US!"

Yep, government seems to be doing too much of "we'll do this for you, even if you don't want it, because we think it's good for you" and not enough of "tell us what you want us to do."  Good heavens, do we really have to pass a bill before we know what's in it, Madame' Speaker???

It is an uneasy time in my beloved country.  Hopefully things settle down and we can get back to the business of good, localized, limited, people-first, the-will-of-the-governed government soon...locally, statewide, and federally.  Until then, I can at least rest in the happiness that it is my birthday.  Oh wait, but it's NOT my birthday!!  Yet.  Freakin' screwed up card.......

Monday, October 4, 2010

My Word!!!!

What an interesting title.  My Word!  Since I am officially entering the world of blog for the first time, I sat and sat and sat, pondering on some sort of quippy, catchy, borderline-funny title for my blog.  You know, something with a double entendre', something that would catch the eye and the mind.  Needless to say, I sat for a while.  After all, as I post this, I am my only follower at the moment, right??

I thought about Jon Caspell's Blog.  Nah, too bloggin' bland.  Then Jon Caspell's Opinion.  BOOOORING.  How about Jon Caspell's Bloggin' Opinion?  Nah, that's a mixture of bland AND boring.  Jon Caspell's Opinion and Thoughts....what is this, a news broadcast??  OK, gotta go with something hipper....Jon's WORD.  Really??  Am I a teen-wannabe??  OK, forget the hip phrase.....Jon Caspell:  MY HOUSE.....wait, I thought I was skipping the hip??  Gag....

Then it hits me.  My Word.  After all, that is what this blog will be...my word.  What I want to say.  What I feel the need to quip.  What I feel the need to vent, type, or just flat out say.  And yet....for those that know me best, I have caused, or have tended to fit, that exclamation more than once in my lifetime.  My Word, Jon, did you really crash your car, twice, in one week??  My Word, that was a bad idea eating that habanero pepper salsa in Cozumel!!  My Word, I am so blessed in life!

Yep, My Word.  And welcome to it......