Sunday, December 26, 2010

Trash Compactor Bags

Twas the night before Christmas....well actually, it was the day before.....and I was at work......and I re-learned a funny lesson I simply had to note.

We have a trash compactor in our kitchen.  It's about as old as I am, but it works and works well.  We use it almost exclusively.  However, over the years, we have discovered that it works best with the paper trash compactor bags, the plastic ones tend to gum it up.  As of late, though, it has become more and more difficult to find them.  They used to be a Wal-Mart, and United.  Not recently.  After an online search, we found that Sears carries them, and we were down to our last bag.  To avoid us being buried in kitchen trash over the Christmas break, I volunteered to brave Sears on Christmas Eve for compactor bags, and thought it would be easier earlier in the day.....which of course meant I would be in my police uniform.

For those of you that have experienced Lubbock holiday traffic, especially on Slide Road around the mall, much detail is not needed on the difficulties I faced with just getting to Sears.  For those not blessed with such an experience, think Hulen Mall in Dallas....very comparable.

By the grace of God, I made it to the mall...alive.  Of course, there were NO close spots.  Driving through the massive parking lot was NO fun.  The trek across the parking lot after finding a distant spot, under the marking BFE, was NOT warm.  The store was CROWDED.  My mood was WANING.

I made my way through the throng.  Bearing in mind I am a man, I refused to ask where the compactor bags were, and wandered aimlessly through the store as any good man does.  After racking my brain, having not experienced the dumb luck of stumbling across them in a manner of sheer luck, it dawns on me....major appliances.  And at that same moment, a clerk asked me if I needed help.  I put my man-card in my pocket and asked.....2nd floor.  Mood continues to wane.

I stood in line for the lone escalator, made my way up, wandered some more, and finally found the compactor area.  And there they were, like a rainbow after the storm, trash compactor bags.  For good measure, I got 2 packs.  But mood was not improving yet and I knew I faced the check-out experience.

I made my way to the nearest check-out counter, waited in the line, among all the folks with presents, and took my turn at the register.  Despite the find and nearing the end of my trek, my mood had not improved, I just wanted to pay and go.  I set the bags on the counter, and set my sights on the check-out clerk.  She was probably in her late 60's, and I imagine had been on her feet for the better part of a week dealing with holiday shoppers.  She did not greet me, she did not smile, she did not seem to be in a hurry like I was....she just looked at me for a few seconds.  I just knew I was about to get some "Do you know officer so-n-so?" or "I got this ticket...." or "Let me ask you a question" or something else that would extend my stay.  And then she asked it....the question that turned my day right around.

"So, I take it that these are your traditional yearly gifts for the family?"  followed by a wry smile.

I laughed so hard I know I made a fool out of myself.  Here was this lady, obviously tired herself, working long hours, dealing with us customers during such a busy time, and she had not lost any sense of humor at all.  When I finally regained my composure, I responded, "Actually, we use these for stocking stuffers."  We had a good laugh together as she rang my bags up and exchanged a few more pleasantries.  She thanked me for the job we do, and off I went after a warm, "Merry Christmas to you and your family" exchange.

My mood had completely changed...and it took a lesson from the nice lady at Sears.  The lesson being no matter how busy the season, no matter how hurried the crowd is, no matter where circumstance places you, smile and laugh.  And I learned it well this Christmas season.

To all my family and friends, smile and laugh, and I hope you all have a blessed and happy 2011.

Monday, December 6, 2010

The Holey Sweats

It's done.  The house is decorated.  The tree is up and lit.  The yard figurines are sitting pretty.  The yard lights are stationed.  The timers are set and working.  The interior has Santas and nativity scenes and holly and wreaths and lighted villages and fake snow and snowmen and greenery galore.

It's Christmas time at the Caspell household.

And yet, I am slightly sad today.

For you see, I spend the lion's share of the afternoon, just before my Cowboys beat the Colts, putting up the house lights yesterday.  I got my grungy clothes on, got the folding ladder out, untangled strand after strand of red and white lights, went bulb by bulb replacing burned out ones, and climbed up on the roof.  Denise was such a good help, feeding me the lights as I meticulously worked my way around the edge of the roof, then up the eave above the garage, then around the sides of the house.  They are up, they are working, and the house is done.

Then, today, I get the sad, horrible, depressing news.

My wife points out my holey sweats.  Yep, my favorite pair of gray, grungy, hang-around-the-house, junky sweats now have two large holes in the seat.  Looks like scooting around on the tiled roof finished them off.

And I am sad.  My fellow men out there, you know what I am talking about.

These sweats have seen me through many years of grungy wear.  Need to run to the store late for a gallon of milk and a loaf of bread?  Want to be comfortable going to the doctor while feeling like crap?  Need something to throw on while you take the garbage out and clean up the dog poop?  How about something to wear when crawling around in the attic to keep the itchy insulation off the legs?  Or running to the pharmacy for medicine for your sick spouse, children?  Yep, for many years, these sweats have been by my side, fulfilling these needs.

And now they are holey.  Trash can fodder.  Land fill fillers.  Dumpster liners.  Enroute to the big sweats paradise in the sky.

I know Denise is thrilled, though.  Should have seen the smile on her face when she told me they were now holey and finally unworthy of wear.  She's been bugging me for years to ditch them, she never liked them, she just did not understand the man's sweats.  Wish fulfilled.  The sweats are gone, sacrificed for the sake of a well-decorated house.

Perhaps Santa will take pity on a fellow man who finds himself without his beloved grungy sweats.

sigh..........

My only solace is the fact that they were identified as holey just before the visiting in-laws saw me....cause that would have produced a much different blog this week.

Monday, November 22, 2010

Alaskan Cruise 2010




I'm well behind the 8-ball.  Months ago, I was to have logged my memories of our Alaskan cruise from this past summer.  Epic fail.  How do I make up for it?  Do it as a blog!  Two birds with one stone....

First, an extremely sincere thank you is due for my father-in-law and mother-in-law.  They were generous enough to take the WHOLE family, kids and all, on a 2-week Alaskan cruise, airfare and hotel included.  Denise and I, and for sure the kids, had a blast and created a lifetime full of memories.

We were given the itinerary as a surprise last Christmas.  Thank goodness, because it gave us several months to plan for the trip, and we needed it!  After all, getting a family of 5, including 3 young children, ready and packed for a 2-week trip to Alaska takes a bit of planning.  We bought clothing, luggage, supplies...and some sanity for the trip.

We flew out of DFW on American Airlines.  It was the boys' first plane ride, and they were in such anticipation, they were just pacing in grandma's house waiting for the shuttle.  Of course, the shuttle ran into construction, and lo and behold, we nearly had to do the airport-dash to get to the plane on time.  DFW has so many entrance gates, though, that I just knew it should be a short line to get in.  WRONG.  We got in line behind an entire youth group that had just gotten there!  The nice ladies at the ticket area saw our plight and ushered us ahead and right through....and the plane started boarding almost as soon as we got to the gate!  The flight was flawless, the kids had a blast, and we got to see some amazing scenery when we began to descend into Seattle...lots of mountains and even Mt. St. Helen's volcano!




We flew in a day early and got to see the Seattle sights the next day.  Downtown was really neat, the space needle was amazing, Pike's market was a blast, and the duck tour (the WWII era water-land craft) was great!  The kids loved driving through the city, THEN driving directly into the lake!

 
The next day, we shuttled to the pier, and boarded our AMAZING ship!  We sailed on Holland American Lines, and our ship was the Amserdam.  The security area was pretty crowded and a little chaotic on the entrance, but once we got on the ship, the kids fed, and found our way to our rooms, we settled right in.  Another thank you to the in-laws for the larger state-room with a balcony!!  The balcony would pay off later in the cruise....stay tuned for that.........

Detailing every memory would create a near-unreadable blog, so I'll hit my favorites.  Every port had something just a bit different and unique, and each was worth the stop.  Our first port was Ketchican, an early gold rush town.  We saw a great lumberjack show, then saw Creek Street...which was just that, a walkable street that was built on top of a salmon creek....for you see, the way the law was back then, any "area" above "water" could not be monitored for prostitution!  Probably my favorite port was Homer.  Here, Denise and I went on a guided kayak tour into the sea bay and connecting fjord.  There were mountains rising on all sides, bald eagles flying about, cool breezes....just an amazing shore excursion!  Our guide, Steve, was later spotted giving the same tour to Sarah Palin on her Alaska TV show.....cooooooool.



In Skagway, it was the railway that took us up the old goldrush trail.  Talk about scenery!  How they built that railway is a miracle, what with the hairpin turns cut right into the mountain-side.  In some areas, you could still see the old walkway trail, with broken wagons and tools still littering the area.  And of course, the graveyard of those that built the railway was still there.  We also walked about Skagway's village, and found me some salmon jerkey....yum.  Sitka housed the raptor rescue center....you guessed it, the most majestic-looking creatures up close and personal....bald eagles!  We got to see them up close, as they were rehabed from injuries, and one was brought live into our room!



Juneau was the boys' favorite....whale watching....and whale watching we did!  The boat drivers knew exactly where they were feeding, and we saw a myriad of whales!  The put on quite a show, up close and personal.  I'm not sure why they say it is good luck to get sprayed by a whale, cause that stuff stinks!  One whale even rolled up on its side and flapped its flipper at us...then came all the way out of the water to see US.  What beautiful creatures....why anyone would want to hunt them is beyond me, but that's another blog.





I must also mention Glacier Bay National Park.  Sailing through an ice field up to glaciers and scenery galore was amazing.  We got to see ice falling from the glaciers, seals swimming about, mountains and forests.  Just beautiful....and COLD!





On the ship was just as fun.  My wife dragged me kicking and screaming to a bingo match....where I promptly won $1,200 dollars!  Otherwise, the casino enjoyed taking my money (my usual luck at 3-card poker was absent!!).  The nightly musical shows were well-choreographed and the singers very talented.  My favorite show was the ventriloquist, who just happened to find the lone Kentucky hick-redneck on the entire ship and get him up on stage for a little embarassment!  And of course, there was the food.  I ate my weight in crab and seafood, I think.  The formal dinners were so much fun, especially for Cameron.  He had such a good time ordering the fancy food from the big menu......and even got to ask the waiter for more crab legs and chevice' along with his lobster bisque!

One of the best features was Club Hal.  It was daily kid care that allowed us to go be adults when we wanted.  They had daily activities for the kids, Wii and XBox consoles, and a great staff of young women that took excellent care of our children for us.  The kids still talk about the friends they made at Club Hal.

Oh, the balcony.  We had spent many hours on the balcony enjoying the scenery, especially in the narrow pass.  But nothing compared to the end of the cruise, when we got to see porpoises and whales galore one last time!  One even did the jump out of the water for us....we later learned it is called bubble feeding.



All in all, it was the vacation of a lifetime.  To get to share that with our young children was worth any minor stressors of traveling that far and long with kids.  It is my sincere hope to go back to Alaska again, it was an amazing state to visit.

Thursday, November 18, 2010

Hire Jason Garrett Now

I know, I know.  It is only one game.  But I am going on blog-record now and saying it.

Jerry Jones needs to remove the Interim label, and hire Jason Garrett as the permanent Head Coach of the
Dallas Cowboys, and now!

Madness, you say?  Too early to judge?  Let him succeed or fail first?  We should hire a big-name Super Bowl winning coach?  Jon has finally lost his football cracker??  Nope, nope, nope, nope, and NOPE!
And here's why.

First, consider recent Super Bowl winning coaches.  How did Jimmy Johnson's stint in Miami wind up?  Did Bill Parcels win another trophy in Dallas?  How about George Siefert, Mike Ditka, or the second coming of Joe Gibbs to the hated Redskins?  Nope, not a one of them won another Super Bowl with their new teams.  Heck, they did not come close.  What causes us to believe Jon Gruden, Bill Cowher, Brian Billick, or Tony Dungy would not suffer the same fate as these retreads?  Oh sure, these four can coach, but so could all the others who failed to win the big one again.

Then consider recent successful coaches.  They are a new breed of recently-promoted assistants and first-timers that are hitting it big time.  The guys that know who to baby and who to baby-sit.  Sean Payton and Mike Tomlin have won Super Bowls, and guys like Rex Ryan, Steve Spagnulo, Mike Smith, and Mike McCarthy are all coaching playoff-contenting teams.

Nope, recent history says hiring the big-name coach won't do it by itself, in fact, just the opposite might be true.  Sure, not every assistant will hit it big time (evidenced by Dave Campo), but they have had more success than recent retreads by a mile.

So next, let's look at why Wade Phillips was such an epic fail.  No structure.  No accountability.  No discipline.  No meaningful preparation.  Too soft.  Too relaxed.  Too laid-back.  And how does Jason Garrett remedy that without going too far and micromanaging (a la Bill Parcels)?  Nothing drastic, just a few basic changes to get the blood flowing, to instill a sense of personal responsibility.  Changing the practice times, check.  Traveling in coat and tie, check.  Faster pace and pads in practice, check.  No lolly-gagging between drills, i.e. you run, check.  Being great in pre-game prep, check.  Finding that balance of situational leadership, where some players need structure and others are mature enough to be responsible for themselves, check.  All of it culminating in a win??  Check-mate.  Clearly, Jason is already changing the mentality from prima donnas who do what they want, to a team playing and practicing hard for each other, that has pride in what they do and do it to the best of their ability.  He's been with this team long enough to know who he can be buddies with, and who needs a good swift kick.  He's already doing it.  Good start.

And final point to consider, Jason was part of the Dallas Cowboys when they last won a Super Bowl.  He's been there, seen how to win one first hand, from the sidelines, knows what it means to do it as a Dallas Cowboy and handle that added stress.  And the beauty of him being the 3rd stringer back then means he got to witness it all, soak it all in, think and learn.  He's no dummy, being a Princeton grad and all...clearly, he's smarter than the average football player.  I am willing to bet he spent every waking second listening, learning, internalizing what he would do in the same situations, debating what calls he would make, storing away how he will take the successes he's been apart of and turn them into another Super Bowl winning team when he gets his shot at coaching.  Make no mistake, he's been preparing for just this moment his whole football career, and being part of Super Bowl winning teams has prepared him.  He's ready.

But don't take my word for it, check out what Michael Irvin, his teammate, has to say about this:  "I know Jason Garrett got to where Jason Garrett got to with hard work on the football field. I know he understands what it takes on the football field - on the football field Jason Garrett knows what it takes. He wears a ring on his finger that says, 'I know, I was here.' All Jason has to do is implement what he saw, then get rid of what they are doing now, period - period.  If I'm Jason, I'm saying to these guys, 'Guys I'm going back to what I know worked then. We are going back to practicing like I know how to practice. We are going back to paying attention to the details and practice like I know how we used to do it and it earned us Super Bowls. And I think guys will receive that because they are looking for guidance and understanding, too."

Change has begun in Dallas Cowboy land.  Jason is instrumenting that change.  He deserves the opportunity beyond this year to implement it and see what happens.  He has the tools, the talent, the smarts, the experience, and now he has the chance.  Hire Jason Garrett....NOW.

Wednesday, November 10, 2010

The Rudest Person in a Long While

There are few things as sobering as seeing a deceased person.  Add the elements of being a Sheriff's deputy, still in uniform, just killed by a suspected drunk driver, and you have something even more sobering.

For those in the Lubbock area, you may recall the death of deputy Tommy Lamkin about a week back.  He was on his way home after his overnight shift at the new county jail.  According to his co-workers, when he left shift, he was in a great mood....he had just gotten his family vacation approved and was excited to get home and share that with his wife.

But he did not get the chance.  He was hit almost head-on on the highway when a driver, already with a felony DWI due to her 3rd conviction on her record, crossed the median, BAC estimated at 3X the legal limit, and ended his life.  Allegedly, of course.  At the posting of this blog, she is in jail on a murder warrant....gotta love Texas law, while in the course of committing a felony and you cause the death of someone, we are talking murder in this great state!

Aside from her day in court, the focus should be on Tommy and his family.

The scene was a mess, and we were forced to shut down both sides of the highway to properly secure and process the crime scene as well as ensure the clean up.  The unfortunate side effect is it caused a significant traffic flow problem, as everything had to exit and re-enter the highway further down the road.  There was simply nothing we could do to avoid that.

And this is the moment when I almost got to meet the rudest and most insensitive person I've had the chance to encounter in quite some time.

While all the officers were busy, processing and collecting evidence, mapping the scene, ensuring Tommy's body was being properly taken care of, ensuring everything was in order for the pending criminal trial, every officer on the scene heard him....somewhere in the line of cars slowly exiting behind us:

"WHAT THE HELL IS TAKING SO LONG????"

We all whipped around as soon as we heard the shout, scanning the line of cars, looking for the guilty party.  Alas, we could not identify the shouter and the cars slowly continued to exit.  What a shame, because had the guilty party been identified, I would have been more than happy to answer his question.

So, since I could not answer it at the time, since he did not have the courage to stay around and await my answer, here is exactly what I would have told him:

"Pardon me, sir.  I must apologize that we are in your way.  I have no doubt that whatever you have to do at this very moment surely trumps the life that was just snuffed out here.  I am so sorry that our duty of processing the scene while keeping you safe and ensuring that the alleged criminal that just killed someone, just killed a Sheriff's deputy, just ensured that his wife and two children will not see him on this earth again, is put in jail for a very long time to keep you and the public safe, which is thus interfering with your commute and interfering with your life.  What is taking so long is we must be meticulous in cases like this and ensure we have every element of the crime satisfied...otherwise, the alleged drunk driver might not be convicted and Tommy's family will not have justice, and you will have another habitual drunk driver endangering you and your family.  We also must take care with his body....you see, he is still in that mangled pickup over there, and I suppose I must apologize for that as well.  So, on behalf of Tommy's family, I simply apologize that we are in your way...that our duty and striving for justice is interfering with your day.  Please go forth and have a blessed day, sir."

At least, that's what I would have meant to say.  Perhaps it would not have been quite as artful, and the language may have changed just a tad....however rest assured, it would all have been relayed in some form or another.

What a shame the rudest, most cowardly person I've encountered in many years did not stick around to hear my answer.  It was a good one, I think.

God bless your family, Tommy, and find rest and peace.

Wednesday, November 3, 2010

An Election Wave

I'm stunned.

The dust has barely settled and some of the races are still being decided, but just a few hours after all the polls have closed, clearly an election wave has occurred.  It has swept the Republicans back into power in the House of Representatives by a wide margin as they have gained well over 60 seats, and Speaker Nancy Pelosi has been fired.  A swing that large has not happened in a few generations.  In a normal mid-term election, 3 Senate seats on average change hands; this time, the Republicans gained 6 and nearly ousted a sitting Majority Leader.  And in governorships, add 7 to the GOP column in a redistricting year.  The state and local races have also seen Republican gains and sweeps across the board.

Clearly, America had something to say in this election.  To analyze what we said, examine a few recent quotes from our elected leaders.

"The question I'm going to ask myself and I ask of all of you, is there enough serious effort that in a month's time or a few week's time or six weeks' time, we could actually resolve something. And if we can't, we've got to go ahead and make some decisions, and then that's what elections are for.”  -President Obama

President Obama made this statement near the end of the health care summit.  Little did he know that it would have serious overtones for the future.  America has by and large rejected his signature legislative accomplishment in Obamacare.  By wide margins, we cringed at the process that jammed this unpopular piece of legislation down our throats and have steadily said repeal and replace it.  So, he was right, this what elections are for....and clearly, he misread or did not listen to the American people on health care reform.

"But we have to pass the bill so that you can find out what is in it."  -Speaker Pelosi

Oh, pardon me, that would be former Speaker Pelosi......

Another health care quote, however this one has a more far-reaching and open-ended meaning.  This quote, to me, shows the pure hubris and ego that America can't stand in politics...and politicians that do little else but talk down to us.  We, the American people, should know or be given the opportunity to read for ourselves what is in every bill before it becomes law.  Even more importantly, we expect our elected representatives to know what they are voting on.  Clearly, in the Obamacare and stimulus bills, they did not.  We don't like that, or the ego that is implicit in this quote.  We don't need "Nanny" Pelosi or any other government official telling us what is best for us....to simply shut up and take our medicine.  Perhaps a bit more listening and a bit less preaching would have served the former speaker better.

"We've got to learn to explain and communicate what we've done a lot more clearly." -PA Governor Ed Rendell

I will hedge a bit on Ed.  I respect Ed's willingness to clearly define what liberal values and government are about.  He is at least willing to have a civil bipartisan exchange of ideas.  However, this quote quite nicely sums things up for the Dems.  You see, the Democrats in charge did not miscommunicate, they mis-legislated.  A pig with lipstick is still a pig, regardless how beautiful you describe it to be.  Turns out Obama's election was not the sweeping liberal mandate the Democrats wanted, and as a result, the Dems completely overreached and flat refused to listen to us.  No, Governor Rendell and company, you did not get the message wrong, you got the policy wrong.  No, Ms. Pelosi, the Tea Party Movement is not astroturf, it is real and just ran you over.  No, Mr. President, the American people are not your enemies, we are patriots for standing up and saying "no more."

So, we have seen an election wave in 2010.  And with that wave, the American voice can be summed up with one word:  WHOA!  We did not vote for all this government, all this wasted "stimulus", all this ego in our politicians.  Mr. President, time to stop and change course, and we are watching to see if you finally listened.

With my small blog, I can only encourage the Republicans to remember that what is past is prologue.  By that, do not misinterpret this as a mandate, this is a chance to show you have learned your lessons and are now listening to us....this is a check-and-balance on too much government.  Use it wisely, do not overreach and overspend, be sure to cut taxes and spending, allow our free enterprise and markets to work, and above all listen to the American people....because that wave can always flow the other direction.

Tuesday, October 26, 2010

Nolan Ryan, Thank You

July 20, 1990.  On that date, my dad took me to the old ballpark in Arlington for a Texas Rangers game versus the Detroit Tigers.  It was not the fact that Texas won 5-3 that made it so memorable, as I had been to plenty of games before and have been to many since...it was the fact that it was Nolan Ryan's 299th win.

I remember it very well.  The plans were made last-minute...somehow dad had gotten ahold of some tickets, and we were to make the drive from Abilene to Arlington on short notice.  We sat in the cheap seats, left field lower deck just inside the foul pole by about 5 seats and about 10 rows up.  Of course, the quality of seats did not matter...it was still a great view, we were present and accounted for, we did not sit for a second, and we saw every pitch.  The smells of the Ballpark were dynamic...the hot dogs, the popcorn, and of course the smell of a fermented beverage that I could not yet recognize (hey, I was only 17).  The air and atmosphere was alive, and Texas took a fast and early 5-0 lead while Nolan pitched absolute BB's out there.  Texas held on late as the bullpen saved the win for Nolan.  The crowd was electric, cheering every pitch, every swing of the bat.  There was not an empty seat in the stadium, and we all witnessed history.  It was one of the most memorable moments I have had with my dad.



Lots of things have changed since then.  Via TV, I witnessed many more memorable histrionics by Nolan Ryan....win #300, no-hitters 6 and 7, whipping Robin Ventura's butt when he charged the mound. 



The old ballpark is gone now, replaced by the much-improved Ballpark in Arlington.  Changes have also come in the forms of team logo and personnel.  Nolan Ryan is now the team president and part-owner.  But one thing did not change....no American League pennants and World Series appearances.  Sure, they won 3 division crowns, but nothing more, getting drummed out of the first round each time.

No championships....until October 22, 2010.

That day, while not fortunate enough to be there in person, I shared a Texas Rangers game with my sons via TV.  I sat and paced and sat and paced, explaining every nuance of the budding game to them, cheering every play in our favor, going wild when Vlad and Nellie connected in the 5th inning, and we watched our Texas Rangers defeat the defending champ and hated New York Yankees 6-1.  Texas had won its first American League pennant and thus their first trip to the World Series, the game ending when Neftali Feliz struck out Alex Rodriguez looking (talk about karma)....and we jumped to our feet, shouting and yelling in celebration, vaulting ourselves around the living room in glee at the historic accomplishment.

We watched the fireworks, the mob on the mound, the Yankees slunking away dejected into their locker room with questions abounding, the champagne and beer being chilled in the home locker room all draped with plastic, the team doing a victory lap thanking the fans, and drenching themselves with their pre-alcohol selection of ginger ale.  Then, during the post game ceremony, we saw Nolan Ryan make history again, as he held up the American League Championship trophy for all to see.



I flashed back to win #299.  I realized I too had just shared a Nolan Ryan history-making moment with my sons.  And it meant something...to share it with my boys....to realize what it meant to a baseball franchise that I had followed and cheered on for so long.

They finally won it.  The team with stars the likes of Josh Hamilton, Nelson Cruz, Vladimir Guerrero, Elvis Andrus, Cliff Lee, C.J. Wilson, Ian Kinsler.....and most notably the long-time team anchor and captain Michael Young, who stuck with this team over the years, and manager Ron Washington....had finally done it.  They did it for themselves, for the fans, for notable Rangers past.  The early Rangers that never experienced this in a Ranger uniform, like Mike Hargrove, Jim Sundberg, Jeff Burroughs, Charlie Hough, Ferguson Jenkins, Toby Harrah, and forever-Ranger Buddy Bell.  The more recent Rangers like Juan Gonzalez, Pete Incaviglia, Pudge, Kenny Rogers, Julio Franco, Will Clark, Mark McLemore, Hammerin' Hank Blalock, gutsy Rusty Greer, John Wetteland, and Ruben Sierra.

But most memorably, for Johnny Oates, who was smiling and watching from his heavenly home....who too was present and accounted for in love and in spirit.



No matter what happens in the World Series, the Texas Rangers are "tortured" no more.  Texas Rangers fans are long-suffering no more.  Nolan Ryan, in ownership and leadership, made history again.



So, Nolan Ryan, thank you.  Thank you for your leadership, your change in clubhouse mentality, your willingness to step up and teach these guys to win.

The Texas Rangers are American League Champions.

And I shared it with my sons on October 22, 2010.

 

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

38 Years

Of course, the obvious addition to my blog this week is me turning 38.  And I am proud of the fact that I can stare at that number and NOT freak out!  But truth be told, there is no demonstrative reason for me TO freak out over 38.  I certainly don't feel a year older, I am lucky and blessed with good health, I have a wonderful wife and kiddos that I thorougly enjoy spending time with, I am very happy in my career and location.....nope, no freak out here.

We had a visit from my mom this weekend.  Just prior to her arrival, she asked what I wanted for my birthday...I got the distinct feeling she was looking for some sort of tangible answer.  I think I surprised her with my quick answer that all I really wanted was a date night with the wife, just watch the kiddos for an evening.  We don't have enough of them, but when we get the time, I still love date nights.  We had a great date.  I discovered a great new-ish restaurant in town, Hayashi, with incredibly good sushi (correction, nigiri...thanks to brother Bingo for the verbage correction), and great hibachi.  We also got to see "Life As We Know It" (better than I thought it would be, the poo poo on the face scene was a riot) while overdoing it on buttered movie theater popcorn.  A great birthday date, thank you honey!!

I guess my choice in birthday present from mom just about sums up where I am these days.  The tangible is OK, the occasional play-thing is nice and neat...but in all honesty, I'd rather just have time with my family.  I don't feel like I have enough time with them, you know the whole having to provide for them and all.  But I certainly take what I can get!  Few things make me smile like Taylor doing his best to explain to me what his Pokemon characters are and what they do, Cameron sitting and watching football with me asking every question you can imagine about the game (that's my boy!!), and Lauren sitting in my lap wanting to read book after book after book.  Few things are as good for my soul as these three wonderful kids, and I thank God every day for them....and just continue to hope I am doing right by them.  I'm trying, anyway.  Add to that my wife, Denise, who has blessed me with 10 wonderful years of love and family, and I am truly very lucky.

So no, no freak out here.  My first 38 years have been very good to me, and I will spend the next 38+ trying my best to be as good to my family as God and life have been to me.

And lastly, thank you everyone for the kind birthday wishes.  As blessed as I am in family is as blessed as I am in friendships, and I cherish every one of my friends.

So, onward.  We will see what year 38 has in store for us, and the march towards mid-life continues....we will see if the freak out happens then!

Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Clutziness

I am a clutz...a grade-A, classic clutz.  Just ask my wife.  If I was standing in the middle of a vast grass field, and there was one small patch that covered a hole, sure enough I would be the one fool to fall in it.  I can't count how many times I've smacked my head on the door frame of our mini-van...how many times I've tripped over dang-near every piece of furniture in the bedroom...how many times I've barked my shins on anything that is hard, made of wood, and stands shin-high....how many times I've caught my foot on that blasted 2 inch concrete curb in the garage.  I have a long history of such occurrences....and the scars to prove it.  Heck, even as a child, I could not carry a glass bowl through the kitchen without ending up in the ER needing stitches!  And we won't mention slamming my finger in the back gate 2 weeks before my senior year all-region tuba competition...yep, the finger responsible for the 1st valve.  Clutz, thy name be Jon.

About a month ago, my no-longer-secret-inner clutz reared it's ugly head yet again.  I could not complete the simple task of walking through the kitchen, to the table, to help Cameron with his homework, without doing my best to put my left foot through the kitchen chair leg.  I mean, heck, I was even looking at the dang thing and still booted it!  You guessed it, I was shoeless.  Yep, stubbed the heck out of my third toe.  Of course, broke it but good.

Then, to top it off, the next night, I stepped on a yet-to-be-determined toy in Lauren's room.  Uh huh, stepped on it RIGHT on that toe, flexing it backwards, which sent me limping away even more red-faced and in pain than before.  I had felt the bones move......shudder!

It turned all kinds of interesting colors, swelling up to the point where I could not even bend it.  Then as swelling slowly subsided, and the deep purple turned into light purple then over another week or so the lovely seasonal fall colors of orange and yellow, the bruising pattern revealed what I thought.  Multiple breaks.  One across the knuckle, one laterally back towards the foot.  No wonder it hurt so bad!

I decided to try and make this a teachable moment....wait, I hate that phrase....a learning experience for the kiddos.  After all, since they are my offspring, there is a very good chance that clutziness is inherited (mom, I'm looking squarely at you....), so I wanted them to see and realize that even a broken bone is not the end of the world.  They looked at it, and gave the biggest collective "EEEEWWWWWWWWWWWW" ever uttered in the history of the world.  They asked if it hurt, and I said yes but not too bad (wink wink) and it will get better.  Taylor kinda shrugged it off and hoped I would be OK.  Cameron walked over to the offending chair and smacked it telling it not to hurt his daddy. Lauren just wanted to kiss daddy's "booken tow owie" and make it all better (aaaawwwwww). 

A month later, the fall colors have subsided and it looks mostly normal again.  Several weeks of keeping it taped up and trying not to flex it seemed to have helped.  It is not 100% yet, and I have a feeling I will be able to tell when snow is imminent for the rest of my natural life.  But it seems to be almost healed.

Looking for a moral?  Life-lesson learned?  Something profound taught to the miracles that are our children?  Nope, none here.  Just a simple truth.  If you see me stumble, don't be a hero and try to catch me....back away...I might land on you and injure you as well.  You've been warned....

Saturday, October 9, 2010

Tuberville and Tech as of October 2010

As I sit here, basking in the glow of a win by my Red Raiders over the Baylor Bears this Saturday afternoon, I feel the need to opine.  My view on Mike Leach's firing is well known....both sides messed that whole thing up, and I'm tired of dwelling on it.  So, onward.  So far, this season has been a test for Tubs and crew....and for the Red Raider Nation.  For those who care to read it, here are my thoughts up to this point.

Mike Leach was wrong when he called this potentially his most talented team to date.  Bluntly, they are not...they are talented, but not nearly as much as 2008.  I partially blame Leach for lackadaisical recruiting while he shopped himself around.  We have no depth on offensive line and it shows.  We have no speed in the defense, and it REALLY shows.  We are getting a half-hearted effort by most of the wideouts, and it shows.  If Leach had put nearly as much effort into recruiting, especially on D and special teams, as he did job-hunting, we'd be much better off talent-wise.  This team stacks up more like 2002 and 2003 than 2008.

Now don't get me wrong.  It is Tubs' job to fix all of this, and he is not blameless as the team has yet to find it's identity.  And I am NOT bagging on the talent we do have, they are good kids and are learning to represent our alma mater well.  Just noting we should be better than we are.

I credit Leach for getting  us as far as he could with some national recognition, improved O, and some improvement in talent.  Now, Red Raider Nation is ready to take the famed Next Step, and history tells us, to do so takes someone willing and able to help teach the kids TO take the Next Step, to focus on ALL sides of the ball.  And in that sense, Tubs has the history of doing just that.

So how do we get there?  Red Raider Nation, we have to show some patience and let the coaches coach.  I don't care what has been said about the offense won't change, it has.  It takes some time for the offense to gel and begin to click.  After today's win, clearly they are getting there.  Tubs' job really consists of letting the offense continue to grow and improve, while he focuses on getting the horses in here to vastly improve team speed on defense and special teams.  We just have to give him time to do so!

There's nothing wrong with some venting.  After all, we finally got a taste of some, SOME, success in 2008.  The brass ring seemed within real reach.  It is good that we now expect success!!  So, I'm good with venting, it shows we care about our team, our guys, our program. I'm not good with emotional decision-making, those calling for Tubs' ouster after only 4 games is a good example, when we are clearly rebuilding. Snap judgments won't fix this, rational minds and honest-to-goodness recruiting and coaching will, and it will take more than this year. We have got to give Tubs and crew time to put their system and players in place, and support them while they do it. We need the horses on D, on O-line, and on special teams...the areas Leach largely ignored...to take the famed Next Step we all are awaiting. Let's see if they can do it...and the 20th best recruiting class is a step in that direction! I hate losing too, not trying to rose-colored-glasses them....and winning should not require nail-biting after we give up 38 sloppy points....but while we rebuild, find our new team identity, and get the horses in here, I'll support Tubs and crew 150%.  I hope my fellow Red Raiders will to.

This year looks like it will wind up with some wins, some losses, and a lower-tier bowl game.....hhmmm, much like the Leach era started.  I look forward to vast improvements in the years to come, to actually taking that Next Step, and will hope I'm proven right in this:  Tubs can do it....let's give him the chance!!

Thursday, October 7, 2010

But It's NOT My Birthday!!

I'm flattered.  I got a personally-signed birthday card at work today from a high-ranking local government official.  The bad news, though, is that it is NOT my birthday!  My birthday is not for another 2 1/2 weeks.  Now don't get me wrong, it is a nice gesture for a government official to take the time, and I'm sure it was part of some sort of mass birthday card extravaganza for every employee with an October birthday, but he even put the wrong date on the card!

And this got me thinking about government officials in general.  For those who know me, my political leanings are no secret.  I am right-of-center like most of the country.  I have a healthy, Constitutionally-driven skepticism of government largess, especially the bigger government grows and the further away government drifts from localities.  I fully believe, in leadership in life in government, that the best decisions are the ones made at the lowest level possible.  Call it conservative, call it tea party-ish, call it whatever, it is what I believe, and I believe it has proven to be the best mode of governing more times than not.  So back to my thinking about government and my screwed-up birthday card....if they can't even get that right, what else is government doing wrong, locally or otherwise?

We are on the eve of some pretty big midterm elections here.  And I can't help but glance at the nation-wide polling from time to time.  Apparently, either LOTS of people are also getting erroneous birthday wishes from their government officials, or this country is mad as hell right now.  Looks like government across this country is doing lots of wrong in the eyes of the American people lately.  Vast majorities want Obamacare repealed and the border finally sealed.  The party in power is trailing by wide margins in generic polls.  Pundits and "experts" are already saying the House of Representatives is changing hands, and the Senate is in full play.  Liberal bastions like Connecticut, California, Wisconsin, and Washington show formerly popular senators in a heap of trouble.  NOBODY is extolling the "progress" of the past two years, it is all "he's too extreme, she's too strange, who else can I blame."  My fellow Texans are legitimally torn between an unpopular, arrogant governor and his challenger who might do a good job but probably won't get a legitimate shot because he belongs to the now-unpopular party of Nancy Pelosi and Harry Reid, not to mention our teleprompter president....and that fact alone probably means we keep Governor Good Hair for another term.  All in all, America seems to be saying, in full unison, "LISTEN TO US!"

Yep, government seems to be doing too much of "we'll do this for you, even if you don't want it, because we think it's good for you" and not enough of "tell us what you want us to do."  Good heavens, do we really have to pass a bill before we know what's in it, Madame' Speaker???

It is an uneasy time in my beloved country.  Hopefully things settle down and we can get back to the business of good, localized, limited, people-first, the-will-of-the-governed government soon...locally, statewide, and federally.  Until then, I can at least rest in the happiness that it is my birthday.  Oh wait, but it's NOT my birthday!!  Yet.  Freakin' screwed up card.......

Monday, October 4, 2010

My Word!!!!

What an interesting title.  My Word!  Since I am officially entering the world of blog for the first time, I sat and sat and sat, pondering on some sort of quippy, catchy, borderline-funny title for my blog.  You know, something with a double entendre', something that would catch the eye and the mind.  Needless to say, I sat for a while.  After all, as I post this, I am my only follower at the moment, right??

I thought about Jon Caspell's Blog.  Nah, too bloggin' bland.  Then Jon Caspell's Opinion.  BOOOORING.  How about Jon Caspell's Bloggin' Opinion?  Nah, that's a mixture of bland AND boring.  Jon Caspell's Opinion and Thoughts....what is this, a news broadcast??  OK, gotta go with something hipper....Jon's WORD.  Really??  Am I a teen-wannabe??  OK, forget the hip phrase.....Jon Caspell:  MY HOUSE.....wait, I thought I was skipping the hip??  Gag....

Then it hits me.  My Word.  After all, that is what this blog will be...my word.  What I want to say.  What I feel the need to quip.  What I feel the need to vent, type, or just flat out say.  And yet....for those that know me best, I have caused, or have tended to fit, that exclamation more than once in my lifetime.  My Word, Jon, did you really crash your car, twice, in one week??  My Word, that was a bad idea eating that habanero pepper salsa in Cozumel!!  My Word, I am so blessed in life!

Yep, My Word.  And welcome to it......